Introduction to the 8 Limbs of Yoga

In this sequence of videos, you will learn about the 8 limbs of yoga:

  1. Yama – ethics and moral code
  2. Niyama – personal practices in your everyday life
  3. Asana – movement of yoga postures
  4. Pranayama – using breath control to enhance your postures
  5. Pratyahara – withdrawing senses from the outer world and heightening inner awareness.
  6. Dharana – concentration and focus
  7. Dhyana – meditation
  8. Samadhi – merging with the Divine and discovering the peace of God inside of you

These videos will help you learn how to enact each of these limbs in your daily life.

Click here to order the book mentioned in the video, Yoga Sutras of Patanjali.


The Yama limb involves restraint and is about moral codes and ethics. Learn about the basic morals practiced by yogis and how they can help you handle the stresses and confrontations of your daily life.

Also learn some simple exercises to develop brahmacharya, or moderation.


This limb includes our daily practices of being the best we can be. From cleanliness to purity to contentment and more, you will learn the basic principles of Niyama.

Click below to order my favorite yoga products and books:

Yoga Mat

Yoga Blanket

Aroma Yoga: A Guide for Using Essential Oils in Your Yoga Practice, by Sri Swami Satchidananda

Moving Towards Balance, by Rodney Yee


Let’s do some yoga! This standing sequence is simple enough for any beginner. If you are interested in getting started with the movements of yoga, this is the ideal place to begin.

Pranayama – Part 1

This is the first video to help you develop the practice of controlling your breath in order to complete the Asana postures with ease. Learn the beginner breath control exercise of samavritti.

Pranayama – Part 2

Pranayama – Part 3

Continue learning breath control with 3 cooling breath techniques. These are ideal for releasing heat and bringing in coolness during the practice of yoga.

In this video you will learn: lion’s breath, sheetali, and sitkari breathing techniques.

Pranayama – Part 4

Learn the breath control technique of nadi shodhana, which is great for reducing stress and anxiety. Be sure to practice this technique with your eyes closed.


This limb of yoga is the practice of sense withdrawal. Learn a humming bee breathing exercise to help you withdraw your awareness from your surroundings to enhance your mediation and yoga experience.


The sixth limb of yoga is about developing concentration. I’ll show you how to practice the drishiti gaze to improve your focus during yoga exercise.


Meditation not only focuses and quiets the mind, but it actually causes changes in your brain to help you manage stress.

Let’s work through a guided dhyana meditation to help you learn to become aware of your breath, handle stress, and remain calm and present.


Samadhi is a blissful state where we merge with the Divine consciousness. It is the perfect unity of the previous 7 limbs of yoga.


Om is a great way to start and conclude your asana yoga practice. This video explains the meaning of om as well as how this sound can enhance your yoga routine. We’ll end with a guided om mantra.