Some people are turned off or even frightened by the idea of chakras. However, we are all born with these energy centers in our bodies, and learning about how they govern our systems can help us to live healthier, happier lives, both physically and emotionally. As you begin balancing chakras, you will develop an appreciation and understanding about the role that energy plays in every facet of your being.

What Are Chakras?

Before we define chakras, it’s important to understand one thing: You are energy. In fact, all living things are comprised of energy. Proper flow and function of our energy centers helps us maintain psychological, emotional, physical, and spiritual balance. Chakras are simply focused areas of energy within our bodies that regulate all of its processes.

Seven chakras are positioned from the base of your spine to the crown of your head. Each chakra governs specific body systems and functions. As we explore each different chakra, be aware of areas that feel “stuck”, stagnant, or a source of stress in your life. Chances are, those chakras are out-of-balance.

The Seven Energy Centers

Root or Muladhara Chakra

Located at the base of the spine, the root chakra is your connection to the earth. It is what ensures you feel grounded and balanced no matter where you are. It is also the foundation of our security and survival.

Body Systems: Reproductive system and sex organs


  • Grounded
  • Secure
  • Confident relationship with money
  • Protected

Out of Balance:

  • Negative
  • Greedy
  • Eating disorders
  • Insecure
  • Lazy
  • Paranoid
  • Back pain
  • Digestive issues
  • Cold hands and feet

Crystals: Black or red stones: hematite, rhodochrosite, jet, smokey quartz

Sacral or Swadhisthana Chakra

The sacral chakra is in the lower abdomen just below your navel and governs feelings, emotions, and creativity, as well as sexuality, relationships, and inner joy.

Body Systems: Lymphatic system, immune system, adrenal glands


  • Creative
  • Flow with the waves of life
  • Nurturing
  • Harmonious with others

Out of Balance:

  • Excessive dependency or co-dependency
  • Feeling “stuck”
  • Lack of sex drive or excessive sexuality
  • Inability to get work done
  • Low energy
  • Bladder discomfort

Crystals: Orange stones: citrine, carnelian, tiger’s eye

Solar Plexus or Manipura Chakra

Characterized by the expression of will and mental abilities, the solar plexus chakra is the source of our personal power. It is situated in the upper abdomen.

Body Systems: Digestive system, pancreas


  • Optimal digestion
  • Excellent self awareness
  • Appropriate assertiveness

Out of Balance:

  • Controlling and manipulative
  • Rebellious
  • Helplessness
  • Irresponsible
  • Lack of direction
  • Obsessive
  • Difficulties with short-term memory
  • Bloating and nausea

Crystals: Yellow stones: amber, citrine, yellow tourmaline

Heart or Anahata Chakra

The heart chakra is in the middle of the chest and is the center of love both for yourself and others. Because it falls in the center of all chakras, it also helps with overall flow and balance among your energy centers.

Body Systems: Respiratory and circulatory systems, thymus gland


  • Give and receive love appropriately
  • Feel deep connections
  • Compassionate
  • Empathetic
  • Forgiving
  • Accepting

Out of Balance:

  • Difficulty in relationships and fear of intimacy
  • Jealousy
  • Codependency
  • Defensiveness
  • Antisocial
  • Insomnia
  • Immune dysfunction

Crystals: Green or pink stones: rose quartz, green calcite, jade

Throat or Vishuddha Chakra

The throat chakra, located in the center of the throat, brings energy and expression to our speech and also enables communication.

Body Systems: Thyroid gland, which is involved in processing energy in the body through temperature, growth, and metabolism.


  • Authentic
  • Clear communications that are not in excess or deficit
  • Realistic perception of life

Out of Balance:

  • Inappropriate speech or fear of speaking
  • Inability to listen to others
  • Dishonesty
  • Gossip
  • Sore throat
  • Fluctuating hormone levels
  • Stiff or achy neck

Crystals: Blue stones: Apatite, aquamarine, turquoise

Third Eye or Ajna Chakra

Located between the eyebrows, the third eye chakra is the center of intuition and foresight. Thus, the function of this chakra is driven by openness and imagination.

Body Systems: Pituitary gland, also known as the body’s master gland


  • Clear vision of the future
  • Memorable dreams
  • Intuitive
  • Spiritually connected

Out of Balance:

  • Lack of vision or purpose
  • Disillusionment
  • Rejection of spiritual things
  • Insomnia
  • Procrastination,
  • Fear
  • Frequent headaches
  • Eye discomfort
  • Sinus pain

Crystals: Purple stones: Amethyst, fluorite

Crown or Sahasrara Chakra

Finally, the crown chakra is our connection with the universe or God. Situated at the top of the head, it is our energy that reaches up to the sky. 

Body Systems: Pituitary, pineal and hypothalamus glands, which work to regulate the endocrine system, brain and nervous system.


  • Unity and peace with life
  • Awareness of higher consciousness and wisdom

Out of Balance:

  • Spiritually disconnected
  • Closed-minded, especially about spiritual matters
  • Lack of inspiration
  • Poor coordination
  • Exhaustion

Crystals: Clear or white stones: Clear quartz, selenite, sugilite

I want to balance chakras, where do I start?

Chakra balancing simply refers to restoring equilibrium to the natural flow of energy through the body. Negative experiences, stress, lack of sleep, grief, trauma, and physical injury can upset this flow. When a chakra is “blocked”, it means the energy flowing through that chakra is reduced.

Chakra copy

Chakra balancing techniques fall roughly into in three different categories. Physical balancing includes exercises focusing on connecting the mind and body, such as yoga. Meditative balancing involves breathing techniques and introspective quieting of the mind. And finally, we can balance using the transmission of energy, such as hands-on energy healing.

Other ways to transfer energy include using crystals, essential oils, and even eating foods and surrounding yourself with the color of each chakra. Every person has the ability to balance his/her own chakras through these methods.

To start balancing chakras you must start at the root chakra because it is the base of all the other energy centers and provides your sense of security and peace. To balance the root chakra, it’s important to connect to the earth. Get outdoors and walk barefooted on the grass, dig your hands in the dirt, or plant seeds. Physical activity also helps stimulate the root chakra.

Once the root chakra is balanced, then you can move up through the sacral, solar plexus, heart, throat, third eye, and crown chakras. My favorite method for restoring equilibrium is with yoga, meditation, and essential oils. I often select an appropriate crystal for balancing and opening chakras as well. Focusing on each chakra, starting from the root, I apply or inhale an essential oil and hold a crystal while visualizing the opening of the corresponding chakra. Additionally, I employ specific yoga postures and meditations to encourage the flow.

Want to Learn More?

Join my 7-week Yoga, Chakras, Crystals, and Essential Oils course! This seven-part course focuses on one chakra area each week. We’ll combine yoga, chakras, crystals, and essential oils to restore your body and improve your resiliency to stress.

Check out Essential Oils for Chakras, Supplements for Chakras, and The Healing Properties of Crystals.